Prokofiev, Copland & Schoenberg

Thursday 23rd September 2021, 7:00pm

Thursday 23 September 2021, 7pm

Come and be a part of Orpheus’ exciting Emergence programme of glorious music as we open the doors to a full audience for the first time in 18 months. 

Artistic Director, Thomas Carroll, returns to conduct works by Prokofiev, Copland and Schoenberg.

Special one-hour concert

Sergei ProkofievOverture on Hebrew Themes, Op. 34
Arnold Schoenberg Chamber Symphony No. 1 in E major. Op. 9
Aaron Copland– Appalachian Spring

Conductor: Thomas Carroll

Join us for an evening of inspiring, uplifting and joyous music celebrating new beginnings, written by composers at the most pivotal moments in their lives. Prokofiev’s first major commission on emigration to America the tantilizing Overture on Hebrew Themes, Schoenberg’s finding of his own personal new compositional style steeped in romanticism in his first Chamber Symphony and Copland’s Pulitzer Prize winning Ballet Suite, the emotive and gorgeously melodic Appalachian Spring symbolising “a more prosperous future, a future in which men and women would be united again”.

Premium Tickets: £15
Reserved seats in front nave with a glass of Prosecco afterwards
Standard Tickets: £10
Unreserved seats in central and rear nave or side aisles

Limited seating to enable social distancing

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Copyright © Orpheus Sinfonia 2021