Grand Finale


Thursday 11th July, 2013 7:30PM

Cadogan Hall, 5 Sloane Terrace, London SW1X 9DQ

‘Everything will pass, and the world will perish but the Ninth Symphony will remain’ wrote Mikhail Alexandrovich Bakunin, and there is no better piece for a season finale, and the culmination of our 2012-2013 Beethoven Cycle. The Orpheus Sinfonia will be joined by the Orpheus Sinfonia Chorus, and four outstanding soloists in the final, affirming movement of the Symphony which has inspired wonder and excitement since its first performance on 7 May, 1824.

Earlier in our 2013 season, audiences heard Benjamin Baker, Aleksei Kiseliov and Anthony Hewitt perform Beethoven’s own Triple Concerto, and continuing this theme, the Orpheus Sinfonia will premiere a Triple Concerto for Saxophone, Piano and Cello by our composer-in-residence Stephen Goss. This Triple Concerto promises to be virtuosic and atmospheric, filled with the sound-colours unique to Goss.  This will be a concert to remember in the elegant Cadogan Hall.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Be the first to know all of our news about upcoming concerts