Beyond Borders

St George’s Church, Hanover Square, London W1S 1FX

Thursday 31st March 2022, 7:00pm

Thursday 31 March 2022, 7pm



Artistic Director Thomas Carroll and Orpheus Principals will guide you through the inside path of a sparkling programme of chamber masterpieces, taking music to new places ahead of their time.


Beethoven  Clarinet Trio, Op. 11
Tan Dun  Eight Colors for String Quartet
Coleridge-Taylor  Larghetto for Clarinet Quintet
Schumann  Piano Quintet, Op. 44


Programme just over an hour runs without an interval, followed by drinks and a chance to mingle with the musicians.

Tickets available in immersed (seated surrounding the musicians offering an immersive performance experience), distanced and standard seating.


Immersed Seating: £20 (Seats around the musicians with a glass of Prosecco afterwards)

Premium Tickets (Front Nave) : £15 (Unreserved seats in front nave with a glass of Prosecco afterwards)
Standard Tickets: £10 (Unreserved seats in central and rear nave or side aisles)
Distanced Tickets: £10 (Unreserved seats in the balcony)

Prosecco also available to purchase at the performance.

This programme presents a collection of composers who pushed the boundaries of classical music at different times. Beethoven’s Clarinet Trio represented the rapid growth in popularity of woodwind instruments at the time, while Chinese composer Tan Dun pushed the limits of the string quartet by including dark ritualised singing, dramatic singing and extreme attention to dynamic and tone colour in his Eight Colours for String Quartet.

Coleridge-Taylor’s Clarinet Quintet was written in response to Brahms’ Clarinet Quintet, when Stanford commented that no one could write for this combination of instruments again without having Brahms’ influence. Stanford took on this challenge and excelled in this composition, where we present the Larghetto movement which recalls Dvorak’s New World Symphony. Lastly, we complete this programme with Schumann’s Piano Quintet, which shows the combination of string quartet and piano as a completely new development in chamber music at the time.



Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Copyright © Orpheus Sinfonia 2023